Russell Wilson named Rookie of the Year

seahawaksBy Clare Farnsworth 

SEATTLE -- Those who voted for NFL Rookie of the Year at saw something that eluded those with votes for NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year: Russell Wilson had a greater impact on his team than any of the players selected before him, or after him, in last April’s NFL Draft.

The Seahawks’ rookie quarterback was named NFL Rookie of the Year on Saturday night during an awards ceremony in New Orleans as determined by fan vote. Earlier, it was announced that Wilson had finished third in balloting for Associated Press NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year behind winner Robert Griffin III of the Washington Redskins and Andrew Luck of the Indianapolis Colts.

In voting for NFL Rookie of the Year at, Wilson received more votes than those other quarterbacks as well as Redskins running back Alfred Morris and running back Doug Martin of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

One factor in the contradictory nature of the outcomes could be that voting for the honor lasted longer, so Wilson benefited from playing progressively better as the season progressed – and was the last of the rookie QBs standing in the playoffs, as Wilson and the Seahawks eliminated RGIII and the Redskins in the wild-card round, when Luck and the Colts also lost.

For more on this story, click here.