Walter Jones one of 25 semifinalists for NFL Hall of Fame

NEW YORK -- Former Seahawks offensive tackle Walter Jones is one of 25 semifinalists for the 2014 NFL Hall of Fame, the NFL announced Wednesday.

Jones is one of the top five left tackles in the history of the game.  He made the Pro bowl in each of the final eight seasons of his illustrious 13-year career, all with the Seahawks.

The list will be narrowed down to 15 in early January and the final names will be announced on Feb. 1, one day before the Super Bowl, from the list of 15 modern-era finalists plus the two senior nominees (punter Ray Guy and defensive end Claude Humphrey, who were selected in August by the Hall of Fame's Senior Selection Committee).

Other notable names on the list are Michael Strahan, Derrick Brooks and Marvin Harrison.

Here is the complete list of the 25 semifinalists:

Morten Andersen

Steve Atwater

Jerome Bettis


Derrick Brooks

Tim Brown

Don Coryell

Roger Craig

Terrell Davis

Edward DeBartolo, Jr.

Tony Dungy

Kevin Greene

Charles Haley

Marvin Harrison

Joe Jacoby

Jimmy Johnson


Walter Jones

John Lynch

Karl Mecklenburg

Andre Reed

Will Shields

Michael Strahan

Paul Tagliabue

Aeneas Williams

Steve Wisniewski

George Young