Murray keeps most of McGinn's department heads -- tells 4 to move on

SEATTLE -- Mayor-elect Ed Murray announced Friday he is keeping 10 department heads or supervisors in Mayor Mike McGinn's administration, but has informed at least four others that they will not be returning once he takes office in January.

Interim Police Chief Jim Pugel was not mentioned, but Murray has said in the past that he wants a new chief.

Mayor-elect Ed Murray talks his planAccording to a Murray news release Friday, the following department heads will be not be returning once the new administration takes office:

Beth Goldberg- City Budget Office

Peter Hahn - Department of Transportation

Marco Lowe - Director of Intergovernmental Affairs

David Stewart - Personnel Director

In addition, Rick Hooper, the current director of the Office of Housing, is announcing his retirement, and Catherine Lester, the interim Director of Human Services, has been asked to stay on for now as the city conducts a search for a permanent director.

Murray has also met with and asked for the continued service of the following:

Fred Podesta - Director of Finance and Administrative Services

Bernie Matsuno - Director Department of Neighborhoods

Ray Hoffman- Seattle Public Utilities

Gregory Dean - Fire Chief, Seattle Fire Department

Erin Devoto - Director, Department of Information Technology

Steve Johnson - Director of Department of Economic Development

Diane Sugimura - Director of Department of Planning and Development

Randy Engstrom - Director of Arts and Cultural Affairs

Robert Nellams - Director of Seattle Center

Jorge Carrasco - Superintendent of City Light