Huskies will face Ohio State in return to traditional Rose Bowl matchup

SEATTLE – What a novel idea: The Pac-12 champs will play the Big Ten champs in the Rose Bowl.

Ohio State will be the University of Washington’s opponent in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1 in Pasadena, Calif., the first time since the advent of the playoff era in college football that the game will revert to its traditional matchup of conference champions.

The Buckeyes (12-1) finished at No. 6 in the rankings, missing out on the four-game playoff. It’s their first trip to the Rose Bowl since 2010.

The Huskies, on the other hand, are back in Pasadena for the first time in 18 years.
Here's a closer look:

Ohio State (12-1, Big Ten) vs Washington (10-3, Pac-12), Jan. 1, 5 p.m. EST

LOCATION: Pasadena, Calif.


Ohio State: QB Dwayne Haskins is the Big Ten's player of the year, leading the nation with 47 touchdown passes and 4,580 yards passing.

Washington: LB Ben Burr-Kirven averaged nearly 13 tackles per game for the Pac-12's stingiest defense.


Ohio State: The Buckeyes missed out on the College Football Playoff despite trouncing Michigan and winning the Big Ten title in their last two games.

Washington: After a slow start to a season of high expectations, the Huskies earned their first Rose Bowl trip in 18 years with four consecutive wins, including the Pac-12 title game.


Ohio State 33, Washington 14. (Sept. 15, 2007)


Ohio State: 15th appearance in the Rose Bowl, but second since 1996 season

Washington: 15th appearance in the Rose Bowl, but first since 2000 season