Pierce, Snohomish counties approved for Phase 2 reopening; King County granted modified Phase 1

CAMP MURRAY, Wash. -- Five more counties in Washington - including the second and third most populous counties in the state - are moving to Phase 2 of the state's county-by-county plan to reopen the economy, the state health department announced Friday.

Clark, Okanogan, Pierce, Skagit, Snohomish and Whatcom counties are approved to move from Phase 1 to Phase 2.

King County was approved to move into a modified version of Phase 1.

Seven counties -- Columbia, Ferry, Garfield, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Stevens and Wahkiakum -- are approved to move from Phase 2 to Phase 3.

Here's a breakdown of where the state stands as of midday Friday:

    "While this is a good step forward, we must continue to support our businesses, workers, and families in the economic recovery ahead," Snohomish County Councilman Nate Nehring said.

    Under Phase 2, the following businesses can reopen:

      Businesses approved to move into a new phase must comply with all health and safety requirements outlined in the state's guidance to reopen.

      Modified Phase 1 reopening for King County includes:

        The metrics to move into more advanced reopening have been modified since Gov. Jay Inslee initially laid them out. As of March 29, these are the goals, but not necessarily the requirements to be granted a variance for moving into the next reopening phase:

          Read more about the Safe Start plan here.